Read The Lyre of Orpheus by Robertson Davies Free Online

Ebook The Lyre of Orpheus by Robertson Davies read! Book Title: The Lyre of Orpheus
The author of the book: Robertson Davies
Language: English
Date of issue: 1990
ISBN: No data
ISBN 13: No data
Format files: PDF
The size of the: 2.94 MB
Edition: Penguin Books

Read full description of the books The Lyre of Orpheus:

The Cornish Foundation is thriving under the directorship of Arthur Cornish when Arthur and his beguiling wife, Maria Theotoky, decide to undertake a project worthy of Francis Cornish, whose vast fortune endows the Foundation. The remarkably unattractive, extraordinarily talented music student Hulda Schnakenberg is commissioned to complete E. T. A. Hoffmann's unfinished opera Arthur of Britain, or The Magnanimous Cuckold; and the scholarly priest Simon Darcourt finds himself charged with writing the libretto.

Complications both practical and emotional arise: the gypsy in Maria's blood rises with a vengeance. Darcourt stoops to petty crime; and various others indulge in perjury, blackmail, and other unsavory pursuits. Hoffmann's dictum, "the lyre of Orpheus opens the door to the underworld," seems to be all too true - especially when the long-hidden secrets of Francis Cornish himself are finally revealed.

The Lyre of Orpheus is the third novel in the Cornish Trilogy.

Read Ebooks by Robertson Davies

Read information about the author

Ebook The Lyre of Orpheus read Online! William Robertson Davies, CC, FRSC, FRSL (died in Orangeville, Ontario) was a Canadian novelist, playwright, critic, journalist, and professor. He was one of Canada's best-known and most popular authors, and one of its most distinguished "men of letters", a term Davies is sometimes said to have detested. Davies was the founding Master of Massey College, a graduate college at the University of Toronto.


The Salterton Trilogy
• Tempest-tost (1951)
• Leaven of Malice (1954)
• A Mixture of Frailties (1958)
The Deptford Trilogy
• Fifth Business (1970)
• The Manticore (1972)
• World of Wonders (1975)
The Cornish Trilogy
• The Rebel Angels (1981)
• What's Bred in the Bone (1985)
• The Lyre of Orpheus (1988)
The Toronto Trilogy (Davies' final, incomplete, trilogy)
• Murther and Walking Spirits (1991)
• The Cunning Man (1994)

Ebooks PDF Epub

Add a comment to The Lyre of Orpheus

Read EBOOK The Lyre of Orpheus by Robertson Davies Online free

Download PDF: the-lyre-of-orpheus.pdf The Lyre of Orpheus PDF